Update: New Jersey Marijuana Dispensaries
NY PASSES TOUGHEST GUN CONTROL LAW IN U.S.
A New Jersey statute which limits purchases of firearms to one handgun per month has been upheld by a three judge panel of the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit.
As discussed in previous blogs, New Jersey has given the green light to six marijuana dispensaries. However, to date, only one has opened, with the other five not slated to open anytime soon.
New Jersey lawmakers are attempting to pass legislation that would strengthen the child pornography laws already on the books and make them comparable to the federal laws which are considerably tougher. Currently, there isa vast disconnect between federal child pornography law and state law. An individual charged in federal court, for instance, could receive a jail sentence, while someone charged forthe same crime in state court could merely receive probation.
New Jersey legislators are considering reviewing their books and eradicating some of the more antiquated and out-dated laws. Some laws still refer to East Jersey and West Jersey. East and West Jersey became simply New Jersey way back in 1702.
Recently, the New Jersey Appellate Division was asked to decide whether a company's actions were illegal when it fired an employee who suffered from alcoholism after she failed a breathalyzer test.
For an unemployed individual seeking unemployment benefits in the State of New Jersey who has been denied and has filed an appeal, the wait to be scheduled for a hearing can be as long as 6 months. Recognizing that this can cause serious problems in the lives of the unemployed, a New Jersey Senate Committee has passed a bill aiming to relieve the pressure this puts on the unemployed. Under the proposed bill, the State would be required to rule on an unemployment appeal within 60 days of receiving the appeal. If the fails to do this, the claimant would be paid any withheld unemployment benefits and would begin receiving benefits as they would normally accrue under the law. If the State decides after the 60 day deadline has passed, that the claimant is legitimately ineligible for unemployment insurance benefits, then the benefits may be modified or denied from that point forward, but the law would require that any funds which were withheld and paid out resulting from the State's delay in handling the appeal would not have to be repaid, unless the funds were paid as a result of intentional fraud by the claimant.