Although 7 States and the District of Columbia have approved marijuana for recreational use, New Jersey is not one of them. Many people do not realize that in New Jersey, possessing a small amount of marijuana (under 50 grams) is still a crime that carries serious penalties. Not only will a conviction for this offense show up on your criminal record, but there is also a mandatory minimum license suspension of 6 months to 2 years, as well as a $500.00 drug enforcement and demand reduction penalty, that come with it.
An experienced lawyer can help you navigate through the municipal court system. For example, there are many issues, such as whether the search was legal, that can be explored to try and fight your case. There are also first offender/diversionary programs that you may be eligible for. If you have questions about your case, schedule a consultation with one of the criminal defense lawyers at Winegar, Wilhelm, Glynn & Roemersma, P.C.